Some facts about pancreatic cancer

November is National Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Month. I hope each of you take the time to learn about this devastating cancer, in hopes to raise awareness. People aren’t as knowledgeable about pancreatic cancer as breast or prostate cancer, but it is just as a debilitating disease.31,800 Americans will die of pancreatic cancer this year32,180 Americans will be diagnosed with pancreatic cancer this year

  • 32,180 Americans will be diagnosed with pancreatic cancer this year
  • 31,800 Americans will die of pancreatic cancer this year
  • Pancreatic cancer is the 4th ranked cause of cancer death
  • only 23% of people diagnosed with be alive 1 year from diagnosis
  • 4% of people diagnosed with pancreatic cancer will live reach the 5 year survival rate.

One thought on “Some facts about pancreatic cancer

  1. I lost my mom to pancreatic cancer on November 16, 2008. Her diagnosis was unexpected, her death a shock (even though I knew she wouldn’t beat pancreatic cancer). She had no risk factors, except her age. There was no history of cancer in our family. My mom was the healthiest person I knew. This just happened. Pancreatic cancer took my mom from me. More needs to be done to raise awareness of this horrible disease.

Leave a comment